8 Goa Congress MLAs Likely To Join Ruling BJP Today: Sources

Congress MLAs with Chief Minister Pramod Sawant at the moment.


Barely two months after the Congress appeared to have staved off a defection bid, eight of its 11 MLAs led by prime leaders Digambar Kamat and Michael Lobo will be a part of the ruling BJP later at the moment, sources mentioned. They met the Vidhan Sabha Speaker, moreover Chief Minister Pramod Sawant.

If eight MLAs break free as a bunch — two thirds of the celebration energy, that’s — they will keep away from disqualification beneath the anti-defection regulation. 

This morning, the MLAs’ assembly with the Speaker set off the speculations because the meeting will not be in session. State BJP chief Sadanand Shet Tanavade then instructed information company PTI that they’re becoming a member of the celebration.

Digambar Kamat and Michael Lobo have been on the centre of the switchover hypothesis in July too, and the Congress had even requested the speaker to disqualify them beneath the anti-defection regulation. 

At the time, Mr Kamat, a former chief minister, had mentioned he was “shocked and stunned” on the allegations of main a division. Even Michael Lobo,  the Congress eliminated as Leader of Opposition, had claimed there was “no talk of any division”. Mr Lobo was within the BJP earlier than becoming a member of the Congress simply earlier than the elections earlier this yr.

The Congress was singed similarly in 2019, when two thirds of its meeting energy — 10 of 15 MLAs — defected to the BJP, which is why the celebration this yr made its candidates take a loyalty vow.

Yet, the newest defection wasn’t fully surprising, despite the fact that in July the Congress managed to maintain at the least seven of its MLAs with it. There was no ultimate transfer by the 4 others, together with — moreover Mr Lobo and Mr Kamat — Kedar Naik and Delilah Lobo, Mr Lobo’s spouse.

Senior chief Mukul Wasnik had been deputed by Congress chief Sonia Gandhi to deal with the disaster, and he appeared to have stopped it.

Or not fairly, going by what’s taking place now.

The newest stories of defection come when the Congress is holding a Bharat Jodo Yatra (Unite India March), led by Rahul Gandhi, whereas the BJP has been taking jibes: “Unite your party first.”

In the Goa Vidhan Sabha, the BJP already has a majority of 25 within the House of 40 — 20 MLAs of its personal, plus two from the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, and three independents. This will go as much as 33 as soon as eight from the Congress are available. The Congress can have three left now, whereas the AAP has two MLAs and the Revolutionary Goans Party has one.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.