“Surprised At The Omission Of…”: Mohammed Azharuddin On Duo’s Absence From India’s T20 World Cup Main Squad | Cricket News

The BCCI selectors on Monday named a 15-member Indian cricket squad for the T20 World Cup in Australia, beginning mid-October. The selectors have gone with a tried and examined squad full of seniors who lately performed within the Asia Cup event. The workforce has gone forward with three specialist spinners, 4 pacers, two wicketkeeper batters, 5 specialist batters and an allrounder in Hardik Pandya. While batter Deepak Hooda could be an efficient spinner, left-arm spinner Axar Patel can play late cameos with the bat too. All eyes are on the Rohit-led aspect to finish India’s nine-year lengthy look forward to an ICC Trophy.

However, former Indian cricket workforce captain Mohammed Azharuddin felt that Shreyas Iyer and Mohammed Shami ought to have been a part of 15-member squad. The duo together with Ravi Bishnoi and Deepak Chahar have been named as ‘standby gamers’ for the T20 World cup.

“Surprised at the omission of Shreyas Iyer and Md. Shami from the main squad,” Mohammed Azharuddin tweeted. “Shreyas Iyer as a substitute of Deepak Hooda and Md. Shami within the place of Harshal Patel could be my alternative.”

Batter Iyer has performed 46 T20Is and scored 1029 runs at a strike-rate of 136.65. Veteran pacer Shami has performed 17 T20I selecting 18 wickets. Both gamers are star performers within the Indian Premier League.


India squad for ICC T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standby gamers – Mohd. Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar.

Topics talked about on this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.